top of page

Rescue Me!

The Three Broads have asked fellow educator and fellow DOG LOVER to be a guest blogger for us as we have our questions (and hopefully yours) answered about fostering dogs. You know we love our pups!!

Heidi Thibideau: I'm a high school English teacher in the looping program at Portage High School. I've been teaching for 15 years and I really love it. I have been married to Matt for 12 years and we have three kids - Kate, 10; Sam, 7; and Molly, 4. I have three dogs: Indy, Maggie, and Luke. We also have four cats and a bunny, Mr. Gray Charles. Besides work and my family, I love to spend time working outside and on our house - an on-going project.

1. How did you get involved in fostering dogs?

I wanted to volunteer with a shelter or rescue but free time is tricky to come by. I heard about Lakeshore Paws from a friend. At the time they were just getting up and running and only used fosters because they didn't have a physical space. I talked Matt into letting me try fostering out and I brought our first foster puppy, Buddy, home. We have fostered a total of 24 dogs since 2012.

2. What are the most important things to know before getting into fostering?

Before fostering, make sure you know exactly what the expectations and parameters are of the organization you are working with. A reputable rescue will provide all medical care, help with supplies and food, and have open communication about the dog. It can be hard to see the dogs leave but you need to get it straight in your head that they aren't staying and that you are helping them get to where they are supposed to be. It's also important to anticipate what the experience will be like for your own pets and/or family. Consider what you might need for the new foster: crate, special diet, toys, leash. etc. Where will you have the dog sleep, eat. etc?

3. What was your most rewarding moment fostering?

We fostered a senior dog who had spent nine months in the Porter County Shelter before coming to Lakeshore Paws. He had been found as a stray. He looked at me so stoically from his kennel. We took him out to the car and he curled up in the seat and laid his head in Kate's lap. He was just the sweetest, most gentle dog. I fell hard for him. Luckily, my parents adopted him and he is living like a king with them. It was such a privilege to take him out of the shelter and get him back in a home setting. We also fostered a mama and four puppies this summer. They were a day old when we brought them home. That was such a cool and amazing experience to watch them grow and develop. My kids loved it.

4. What was your most difficult moment fostering?

I have enjoyed all the dogs we fostered but two of them I got especially attached to. It was really hard to see them go, but I was also happy they found good homes. One of them is the dog my dad adopted, so that worked out pretty well!

5. Any funny stories????

On the day I brought Tink and the puppies home, I found a kitten on the side of the road and brought him home with the puppies. Matt's eyes about bugged out of his head when I got the kitten out of the car. He grew up with one cat named Kitty his whole life, so my menagerie can be a bit much for him.

6. What advice would you give someone who is considering being a foster parent for a dog?

Really consider your own pets' temperaments. You don't want to create undue stress for your own pets, family, or the foster dog. Start slow. Many rescues will let you foster just for a weekend or a few days to get a feel for it. Take a hard look at yourself to make sure it won't be too difficult when the dog leaves. It is really easy to get attached, but you have to keep the big picture in mind. I always think I'll never be able to have all the dogs I would like to have, so this is a way for me to help many more dogs get great homes. Give some thought to what kind of dog would work best for you and your family. Since I have small kids and other pets, I tend to foster mostly puppies and seniors because I'm not necessarily comfortable bringing in a large adult dog that I don't know much about.

7. What kind of time commitment is involved?

Most of the dogs I have fostered have been with us for about two weeks. The longest we have had a foster is two months, but others have only been here a couple days before being adopted. Other than the daily work of having an extra dog in the house, you may be asked to take your foster to a weekend adoption event for a couple of hours. Those are generally optional.

8. Why would fostering not be a good idea for someone?

Fostering wouldn't be ideal for someone who works really long hours and isn't home very often or if you have a personal pet who doesn't do well with other animals or who gets totally stressed by the presence of a new dog in the house. A lot of people say they couldn't do it because they would get too attached. That's a real concern, but like I said earlier, you just have to have the right mindset going in to the experience.

9. Who would someone contact to get started?

Contacting your local shelter or a local rescue group is a great starting point. A veterinary clinic may also be a good place to get a recommendation or contact information for a rescue.

Meet the Three Broads

Sassy. Fun. Adventurous. Curious?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

Addie M.

Shannon G.

Hilary H.

 

bottom of page