top of page

Introverts, Extroverts, or Ambivert

The discussion of introverts and extroverts came up toward the end of the school year in my fourth grade classroom. We read an article about why it is important to have quiet time. This led me to asking each of the students which type of personality with which they identified. It was shocking how deep and accurate they were. As you know by now, the Three Broads are similar in many ways but also different in many ways. Here is where we fall on the introvert-extrovert scale. Be sure to let us know on our Facebook page where you fall on the scale. Here is a quick ten-question quiz to confirm your opinion. Who knows, maybe we can go to an event and not talk to each other!

Hilary

The thought of being an introvert or extrovert never occurred to me until college. Since then, I have come to realize on the sliding scale I am closer to the pole of introvert than extrovert. I love quiet time. The thought of putting on pajamas, grabbing a good book, or watching a movie at home is most of the time so much more appealing to me than the opposite. Generally, I am uncomfortable in new situations, in crowds, and in conversations.

This BuzzFeed article about an introvert's brain sums me up pretty well. By the way, on the quiz above I did receive the introvert label.

Addie

On the quiz above I received the label of introvert. I was kind of surprised I did not get ambivert. I do like quiet, solitary time but I also enjoy conversations, parties, get-togethers, and gatherings. In fact, after too much time on my own, I am more than ready for people.

I think most people would assume I am an extrovert, but like Hilary, I can be very uncomfortable in new situations, especially where I do not know anyone.

I am not really sure this information changes anything for me....but it does seem to validate that I am an introvert (or at least that I like a lot of introverted activities!)....and that is ok with me!

Shannon

This topic fascinates me on several levels. I recently read the book The Energy Bus: 10 Rules to Fuel Your Life, Work, and Team with Positive Energy (a fantastic read BTW) which succinctly and interestingly introduces the reader to the people and situations that challenge individuals' energy levels. This is the heart of the introvert/extrovert question and why we can help ourselves by understanding where we fit on the scale. When we challenge normal human nature too frequently we use of our energy stores... Interesting stuff for sure!

I definitely had no thought that I would be an introvert. Coming from a large, sometimes loud Irish family, I love being with a group of people I know, having a good time, and celebrating the things we love. Sadly, no person has ever called me shy or quiet, but there are times when I lack confidence or feel uncomfortable in a group. My test result labels me an ambivert which means I am smack in the middle the spectrum. I definitely feel that I can at time be an introvert at times and at other times an extrovert.

The biggest takeaway for me from this information is that I hope that I can be respectful of everyone's unique level. I would hate to be an energy vampire.

Meet the Three Broads

Sassy. Fun. Adventurous. Curious?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Our Community 

Addie M.

Shannon G.

Hilary H.

 

bottom of page